Gibson Brands Forums

Why do people do it

13yguitarman

O.K im a professional musician and i use really great sounding cheap gear because i know how to pick a guitar.

I usually goto this bar called Burbanks where this 45 year old guy buys these expensive guitars and plays around with them like they are little dummy toys. Oh and not to mention he can barely play worth a dime.

I went to guitar center i see him there buying an expensive gibson byrdland.

What im trying to say here is learn to play get some showmen ship then start buying better guitars

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Some people just have to have the best tools, even if they don't know how to use them. Must be nice to have that kind of money. Wish I did. Then again, if he doesn't seem know anything about music, maybe money is the only quality assurance he has. Tell him my birthday is comming up.

I've been playing for 2o some years and I'm not the greatest myself. But I have a lot of fun doing it...sometimes it can be therapy after a crappy workday. On a good day I can sound like I know what I'm doing. I have some pretty nice guitars. I've worked hard for them. If I had some folks to jam with I'd sharpen up fast.

Just sayin' people will never do what makes sense to you,it would be nonsense to them... they aint you...

part of what makes life interesting ...and annoying.

So, is it the principal of what he's doing, or the dude himself that bugs you?

I may fit into the same catagory as the guy your talking about playing-wise, but I can assure you that if I had some of the gear he does, I'd be treating it with the respect it deserves.

Would that bother you too?

Sounds to me like it's more the guy, in which case the answer is simple. Knock him out and take his gear. :-({|=