Gibson Brands Forums

Using 2 Valve Junior Heads?

Hello. This might seem like a stupid question, but i've only used tube combo amps so i'm kind of new to stacks. If i purchased 2 Valve Junior Half Stacks, how would i connect them together. I would Like to get two cabinets for each head, meaning i would have 4 1X12 cabs driven by 2 heads. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

well if I read you right.. you are buying 4 - 1x12 cabs then putting 2 cab's on each head and 1 guitar to both heads...

So you have two problems to cover here.. easy one first.

Yes you can have multiple speaker(s) or cabs connected to any amp.

first off start off with 1 head and 2 cab's (lets assume they are the Epip 1x12 which are 16ohms each) got to Rat Shack and buy yourself a 1/4" Y jack. two 1/4" female to 1/4" male MONO (not stereo) Y jack

(http://www.radioshack.com)

Model: 274-892

Catalog #: 274-892

now since you are putting two cab's in parallel 16ohms+16ohms= 8ohms parallel. plug the y into the head 8ohm then plug both speakers into the two 1/4" female jacks. Or you can connect the Y into one of the cab's and then run the speaker cable from 8ohm jack to the y and another cable from the Y that's plugged into the first cab to the second cab.

Or you can make yourself a Y cable... or you can solder in a new 1/4" mono jack into one of the speaker cab's which does the same thing.

Once you have 1 head/cab/cab unit running you can do the same to the second head.

Now running your 1 guitar to two heads.. that a different story.. you're going to need a buffered splitter otherwise you will get a big ground-loop hum... these aren't cheap. You can't use a Y cable here since the ground-loop will occur.

You really dont' need to be running 2 heads and 4 cab's unless you're doing some sort of gig.