Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Traditional (or, help me find a LP!)

Bradmeister

Hi, Everyone,

I have been considering buying a Les Paul on and off for a few years. I played a friend's (I think a 2000 Standard) at a practice the other day and fell in love. So, I'm on the hunt for a LP.

I have been thinking about a "Traditional," but I don't really know much about the '57 pickups. Anyone have some idea on how they would compare to a 2000 Standard? Anyone know the specs for a 2000 Standard? (Is it weight relieved or chambered?)

I have played a few Pauls since that practice, but nothing has really "spoken" to me. It could simply be the setup I'm playing on in a guitar store is not my rig. It could also be that the specs are different from the guitar I played. Or, it could be that my buddy has a guitar that was especially well made.

Anyway, I would appreciate any opinions on the Traditional as specified. (What kind of music would it be best for? Should I get it and replace the pickups? Should I look for a used one from the same era as my friend's LP?)

BTW: I'm thinking about the traditional because it is weight-relieved and not chambered. I wouldn't consider buying a chambered version because it defeats the purpose of buying a Les Paul...... I want to keep my purchase in about the $2k price range, but I have been considering a cheaper reissue, with a max of $3k.

Thanks,

Brad