Gibson Brands Forums

fake epiphone mij?

franciscog

looking at he headstock..shouldn't it be like the Gibson's ?? cause it's definately not... it slim something like that of a Chinese Epi and then the top part is like that of a open book and it has three screws..!! haven't had the opportunity of having a closer look at a Japanese Epi but from the headstock as far as i know seems fake..

I'm no expert, in fact more the opposite...

However I'd say its legit, for the following reasons:

The pots line up with the pickguard screw...

Machine heads look evenly spaced near the binding...

My only concern and its a minor one (Cos' we all do it from time to time...) is the machine heads, have they been changed at some point? I thought they may have been the "kidney bean" type heads rather than whats on it... but as I said, its a minor detail...

Remember what I've said all along, when you buying your "KIA " car there are many variations, like S, LS, GL etc Epiphone do the same, there are variants on the theme of a guitar, i.e if they've ran out of a certain part and another will suffice then why not use it? after all its the guitar sound/play abilty that counts..

I posted further back some of the anomalies on my Black Beauty, all are legit and have been purchased at a dealer and yet there are variations on the guitar, for instance my TRC has Les Paul Custom on it and yet others have BLACK BEAUTY on theirs, My pots are black, and yet on later models they are Gold, One of the guys I jam with even has Klusons (mine are Grovers) on his and he swears he hasn't changed them!!! I guess it's whats available in the parts bin at the time, all are still Black Beauties just variations on a theme... after all, Epiphone aren't going to shunt an incomplete guitar into the corner just because they've ran out of Black Pots or TRC's now are they?? I think not....