Gibson Brands Forums

EPIPHONE 5210TE 70's :::: IS IT WORTH FIXING? IF SO HOW MUCH SHOULD I INVEST IN REPAIR

JoeMTL

HEY, I own the Epiphone 5210TE, low end japanese import etc.

1 pick up does not work, 2 knobs dont work, it goes out of tune very quickly and the wooden bridge which lifts the strings moves all the time.

Please let me know, what is the max I should spend to fix it. The picture is the one used as my profile pic.

You can get that all fixed for a cool $150..... Just have the guy permanently attach the floating bridge to the body so it wont move. But make sure you have additional intonation adjustment with that bridge before pemanently attaching it to the body.

additional intonation adjustment? im kind of new to this,

and secondly, I paid around 330 canadian dollars for this guitar. I feel I over paid for this, so do you think 150$ is worth it? Im a beginner guitarist yet very passionate about it. Not going to play in a band nor in public...Small scale, fun, experimentation.

thanks for your advice

Joe

additional intonation adjustment? im kind of new to this' date='

and secondly, I paid around 330 canadian dollars for this guitar. I feel I over paid for this, so do you think 150$ is worth it? Im a beginner guitarist yet very passionate about it. Not going to play in a band nor in public...Small scale, fun, experimentation.

thanks for your advice

Joe[/quote']

The tech will know about saddle adjustment and such, just bring it up to him or her.

That's a pretty high ball price that I gave you, I'm sure it will be cheaper if the pickup that's not working is still good.

HEY' date=' I own the Epiphone 5210TE, low end japanese import etc.

1 pick up does not work, 2 knobs dont work, it goes out of tune very quickly and the wooden bridge which lifts the strings moves all the time.

Please let me know, what is the max I should spend to fix it. The picture is the one used as my profile pic.[/quote']