Gibson Brands Forums

how to guide for re-wiring an LP

Berserker

Hi all,

I've got my epi LP studio, a new set of gfs alnico II classics, new pots, wire, jack, switch, caps and solder, and a brand new soldering iron. Only problem is - they're all still in the box. I've never done this before, let alone picked up a soldering iron before, and am a bit apprehensive about starting.

I figure the next step is to get a good guide or 'how to' on rewiring an LP and obviously one thats pretty detailed for newbie such as myself. I haven't found one as yet so any advice on where to find one, and any other handy tips would be much appreciated.

Cheers and thanks in advance.

Jake

There's no readymade tutorial on how to solder a Les Paul (that I know of). There's too many schematics on guitar electronics floating around all with different colourcodes.

I'd Google "how to solder" first, and try to "read" the GFS-schematic. If anything of those 2 don't make sense, don't do it.

There's no readymade tutorial on how to solder a Les Paul (that I know of). There's too many schematics on guitar electronics floating around all with different colourcodes.

I'd Google "how to solder" first' date=' and try to "read" the GFS-schematic. If anything of those 2 don't make sense, don't do it.[/quote']

appreciate the first and second suggestions - but the last! 'don't do it'! - she'll be right mate, it can't be that hard - i just need to work out how to load the solder into the soldering iron...

i will do this though - perhaps i'll take photos and create a newbies guide!

I must concede I was put off slightly when I took the cover off the back and perfectly neat soldering and wires (cable tied) were revealed - i'd heard this was often poorly done on the later model epis but my wine red, EE lp studio wiring looks very professionally done. Something to aim for when I redo it I guess.

thanks for your advice, any other suggestions would be welcome.

cheers

jake