Gibson Brands Forums

Special, anyone????

Guest icantbuyafender1281734135

Huh, you never read a thread containing Specials on this forum? I've seen plenty last year. Like 200000000 plenty.

Yeah, definitely a Special, and not a Jr like advertised. For that money I'd buy a Epi Japan version with the open book headstock.

Weird. I didn't think they were making them at present' date=' but apparently it's a 2009 build. The serial number certainly indicates so. We were told to expect them sometime this year were we not?[/quote']

Probably a special run for some obscure dealer...

DOT-335-body2.jpg

Not sure if this is the place to post this...or even if the photo will attach; I'm a newbie here.

Walked into our local music store and found this terrific looking Epi DOT 335 but it looked different to me. Turns out, I was right. There is an association of musical instrument merchants called AIMM. They have enough buying power that they can go to people like Gibson and Fender and request a special run of a particular guitar...in this case, a special DOT.

DOT-335-head-lo-res2.jpg

They call it the "59 ES-335 DOT" They put Kluson look alike tuners on it in that funky "starting to turn green after all these years" tulip buttons (which I'm replacing ASAP with Tonepros/Kluson reissues), a unique truss rod cover and a nicely inlayed headstock.

DOT-335-CU-FB-lo-res.jpg

Now...maybe you guys are saying "Brian...where have you been...we ALL know all about this guitar, it's nothing new...it's been out there for quite some time". But if not, or it really IS new to you guys, thought you might like to see it. If interested, find yourselves a music store that is a member of AIMM (they are the only ones who can get this particular run (not even Musician's friend has it). The MSLP is $499 but I got them down to $418 without case.