Gibson Brands Forums

Advice on frets please!

lpfan

Hey I wanted to fix the frets on my 60th anniversary strat. You can feel the ends of the frets if you slide your hand up and down the neck. Is it as simple as masking off the neck and fretboard w/painters tape and gently using a flat file to wear down the protruding file ends? I'm assuming you slide the file along the neck horizontally and not up and down that way everything wears even. I've never done this before but I didn't think there should be much to it. Thanks for any info.

That happens when the guitar drys out. The wood shrinks, the metal frets do not. Before filing them down, try getting your guitar to the proper humidity and keeping it there. In a few weeks the fretboard should return to its proper state and the fret ends won't protrude any more. Shoot for 45% humidity and a constant temp around 70.

Thanks Musikron. I haven't touched this guitar in about 2 months maybe and I recall feeling the ends only a little bit but now its really obvious. Would it be ok to to just take a little bit off?

Keep in mind, if you take any off now, once the wood goes back to its proper moisture content the frets may then be too low. Best to wait it out.

Sheila

Keep in mind' date=' if you take any off now, once the wood goes back to its proper moisture content the frets may then be too low. Best to wait it out.

Sheila[/quote']

I'm not talking about the height of the fret wire, thats fine. I'm talking about along the sides of the neck, the ends of the fret wire is what I can feel.

I wouldn't take any off. You'll wind up with frets too short for the neck.

Let me put it this way.