Gibson Brands Forums

2003 Blonde DOT - Upgrade?

blw74

I've got a 2003 EPI DOT made in the Unsung plant. Paid $280 in '04 for it.

Is it worth investing in new electronics and Pups to improve the tone?

What is a good upgrade path?

Investing??? If you mean increasing the value of the guitar, no. You seldom recoup the cost of the upgrades.

If you like the guitar and plan to keep it, then changing pickups could be an option IF you're not happy with the way it sounds. But you have to have an idea what kind of tone your looking for, you can't ask other people. I have no idea what kind of music you play, what kind of amp you have, what pedals you use... I can tell you what pickups I like, but it might not fit your needs.

Yes, I understand the question was very broad.

I've been playing guitar for over ten years now, mostly acoustic. Working on basic skills, scales, theory, fingerer style blues, folk standards, some bluegrass, some rock and some Jazz. Interested in pursuing more open tunings, slide, classical, more rock and blues.

Up until last weekend I played my DOT thru a Peavey KB 300 Amp. It sounded terrible and because of that I stuck with learning and playing my acoustic guitars.

I've been interested in playing the electric guitar more but I needed it to sound good. I knew that the weakest spot in my rig was my AMP so I started there. Earlier this week I dropped some cash on a CARR Mercury Amp. I had gone shopping for a $400 pro junior and made a mistake and plugged into the CARR. Complete night and day. The Mercury to me sounds like a guitar Amp should. It just drips with tone and has great overdrive.

I am really enjoying the sound I'm getting with the DOT as is. I can't say enough about how much better it is to play through a real electric guitar amp. Now I'm wondering how much tone can I actually squeeze out of my DOT? Can I spend a few more hundred dollars and get more bang?