Gibson Brands Forums

SG Junior reissue

euclid

New to Gibson guitars I currently own and play a new Melody Maker. I have always loved simple guitars and since I'm new to playing I was doing a search on the net for the SG Junior and saw where it was a reissue but was fairly recently discontinued. I remember Jake E. Lee playing one when he played with Ozzy and loved the sound he got out of it. (I realize that he was probebly running a bunch of effects and different amps through it) I was wondering if Gibson is considering bringing the SG Jr back especially in light of the 50th anniversery of the SG coming up next year. If Gibson were to reissue it and price it competivly I along with a lot of other would buy one. Working musicians are always looking for a quality well made mid-price guitar to gig with.

wow 78 views and no responses. I was kinda hoping the Gibson CEO would take a look at this post and then send me an SG JR LOL wishful thinking on my part. In all seriousness though I did see were Musicians Friend did sell this model till about around 07 maybe early 08 before it was discontinued and was hoping someone on the forum might have heard something to the effect that this model may be started up again.

• 1 month later...

I too am REALLY wanting an SG Junior. There is just something about the single P90 and the stop bar tailpiece that gets my motor running. I wouldn't even care if it was issued in a "faded" type of finish. I saw these just as they went out of production a few years back and was never able to snatch one up. C'mon Gibson make em'!!!

I'd even buy two!

Check out these vintage SG Juniors. Some of which appear to be in mint condition:

http://www.vintageguitars.net/products/dispProd.cfm?id=186667

http://www.vintageguitars.net/products/dispProd.cfm?id=186461

http://www.vintageguitars.net/products/dispProd.cfm?id=186572

I strongly encourage you guys to check out the rest of the SG's on this page: