Gibson Brands Forums

Strings

ewusie

Hi everyone,

I have a new Gibson Songwriter Deluxe. I teach philosophy now, but for 20 years I was a professional orchestral musician; so I have some measure of musical sophistication.

Orchestal musicians buy instruments not for their sound, but for their potential. For instance, a Stradavarious sounds dense and sweet, with an amazing ability to play legato; a Guanarious sounds big a fat with the ability to play loud and spit, and therefore carry out over an orchestra.

Everybody sounds slightly different playing the same instrument because of their unique manner of engaging and actuating the instrument. That being the case, what is the potential of a Gibson guitar, relative to a Martin, a Taylor or a Larrive? Sales people tend to be capable enough players, but don't seem to know anything more than what they like.

I have performed long enough to know that the instrument that sounds best from the performers perspective is not necessarily the instrument that sounds the best from the perspective of an audience member; thats why so many guitarists use different instruments in the studio, where the microphone can share the intimacy of the precincts of the performer, rather than that of a typical audience member.

Why then do so many guitarists (in particular) seem to buy an instrument that is suited to one potential sound, and then spend all their time trying to engineer that very quality out of the instrument? They call it tweaking, conturing, customizing, and personalizing but its effects are never subtle, so it amount to the same thing.