Gibson Brands Forums

Low-end Epiphone "Les Paul Special" -- good "experimental" guitar?

Mountain Bob

I've been playing for 50+ years, and a failing middle-joint on my fret-hand index finger is forcing me to learn to play slide-style. As a lifetime fingerpicker, I'm determined to set up my dedicated-slide guitar so I can fret behind the slide, somewhat in the style of Sonny Landreth. The only way I can do that and wear the slide on my index finger is to play the guitar lap-style -- so the style morphs into "Sonny Landreth <meets> Thumbs Carllile <meets> Jeff Healey."

And THAT means it ain't gonna be a two-week transition, learning that "new" style. [cool] That style does require a dedicated guitar, set up specifically as an experimental “learner” guitar.

Obviously there’s NO WAY I’m going to convert my ultra-smooth ’68 ES335TD to that experiment; besides, the neck width and fingerboard radius of that ES335 are all wrong for lap-slide playing.

Here are my requirements for that “experimental-learner” project-guitar needs:

> Inexpensive / low-priced, if possible

(If I get good at this style, I can always trade up. If not ... well, I doubt there’s much of a market for a guitar set up specifically for such an uncommon style of playing.)

> Solid-body electric

(Best profile for lap-style: sits low & flat across your thighs, and doesn’t have an acoustic’s wide lower bout, which pushes the bridge far, far away from the player)

> Wide, flat-radius fingerboard

(A must for really clean fingerpicking & string muting)

> Sturdy construction (“bulletproof”?)

(Lots of string tension with the medium-high 13-56 set.)

> Decent non-electric hardware (tuners, bridge, etc.)

(For a learner-experimental project, I don’t what to have to plow unnecessary $$ into bits & pieces.)