Gibson Brands Forums

Must not be doing it right

WahKeen

I'm not an expert but know the basics as to relieving neck tightness and vice versa to deal with fret buzz. I like a relatively low action, but when I lower the bridge saddle and adjust the truss rod, I still get bad fret buzz. Both my LPs are customs, and I ended taking one of them to be professionally set up. The result was good.

Now, I.m trying to do it myself with the other one and it ends up like the first one when I messed with it befote I took it in. So it's me that's doing something wrong,and the necks are not the promblem.

When I did them both, they ended with higher action than I wanted, especially on the low strings, but no fret buzz, but they were too high.

Ok, call me dumb, but is it better to set up the neck without strings or does it make a difference? Don't want to pay another $50 if I don't have to. But will if I can't seem to fare well.

Need advice please. Thanks.

Edit: The higher up on the neck, the higher the

action (too high), and the lower neck action is ideal. are

There's several variables here - nut slot depth, saddle height, neck straightness (bumps, dips, twists), fret levelness and relief. When players want to go really low in the upper frets, the standard nut slot depth can sometimes be a bit too deep.

Here's a couple good resources to read through - http://www.gibson.com/en-us/Support/TechSupport/Repair%20Columns/Basic-Guitar-Setup/

http://mysite.verizon.net/jazz.guitar/guitarsetup.htm#Truss Rod Adjustment

Thanks for the links fellows. I'll post pics of the nut in just a min. The intonation, you're right, is simple. Not having read the links yet, do I need to file the nut a bit? And i know this has been covered before, so I'm sorry about that....

I got some really good info reading an Ibanez instruction book once. And it's true. It instructs to adjust the truss rod while you adjust the action ACCORDING to fret buzz.