Gibson Brands Forums

cool tones you've stumbled across while experimenting with new gear

This_Dying_Soul

I was playing around with my Visual Sound Double Trouble last night.

I plugged my American Deluxe Strat into it and played through my Traynor tube amp. The amp was on Channel 2 (clean channel for this amp) and the below result could be achieved with either the "brit mode" or "USA mode"

The amp was on low volume ( 0 actually) because it was 2am and my wife was asleep. I dialed in the Drive to about 11 o'clock, tone to 2 o'clock, and the Level at 12 o'clock on the OD 1. I set the drive to 8 o'clock, tone to 12 o'clock and level to 3 o'clock on the OD 2.

with both OD circuits engaged (the pedal is a dual TS-808 clone for those who don't know), the tone was fairly saturated and with a nice amount of compression to it.

Then I started playing the strat and messing with the pickup selector and the S-1 switch (again, for those who don't know, this switch on the guitar changes the way the pickups are wired). Normally, the neck position on the 5 way selector sounds thin and horrible with the S1 engaged and I'd noticed quite a significant volume drop. But, with the Double Trouble set as it was I got a great out of phase type sound that didn't lose any volume due to the compression (not 100% sure if this was the preamp section of the amp or the pedal that caused the compression, but it sound awesome either way). It was really nasally as if I had turned on a wah and left it stationary as a filter.

I can't wait to try this with a group of musicians. It's the type of tone that would cut through any mix. If I recall correctly the position 5 on the selector with the S1 engaged is the neck pickup and the bridge pickup in series.

Anybody else ever stumble upon a tone they absolutely loved but didn't expect to get while playing around with somewhat basic gear like this?

MOOG has some great guitar gear out these days......pricey......