Gibson Brands Forums

Horrible Buzz on my new LP

Details52

I just purchased a brand new Gibson LP Traditional Pro in Vintage Sunburst. It is a beautiful creature and the sounds that come out of her are amazing. I just have one problem. I am picking up a horrible buzz that sounds to me like a short in something. I thought it was my practice amp and cables. So in order to make my LP reach its potential I went out and bought a brand new Peavy Classic 30 tube amp and high quality cables. Once again, I am highly impressed with the sound. However, the buzz is still present when the guitar is at rest. It will stop when I either touch 1 string or touch the washer on my guitar's input plate. I am new to electric. Is this something that I should turn in for warranty or is it something that I have to live with. Its not real loud but it is annoying.

Thank you in advance.

Paul

Are you using pedals or going straight into your amp? Try moving your amp and guitar well away from your computer and fluorescent lights. Try plugging into a different outlet in a different part of your house as sometimes outlets are wired improperly. Also, try facing different directions and see if the buzz fades in and out as you move.

Your guitar is properly grounded if the buzz goes away when you touch the strings so the problem is noise is getting in elsewhere.

I am going straight to the amp most of the time. Im still learning and getting the feel of the electric world after 10 years on my acoustic. Trying to add a new dimension to my music (I'm country and western mostly). I have noticed that the buzz will change as I walk around and turn in different directions. The sound does not really increase in volume when sitting idle. I have heard that with a few guitars over the years. Do you think it is just the interference in my house? It is a new house so the wiring should be good. But I am a gadget guy, so there is wifi, tv's, computers, etc...