Gibson Brands Forums

Removing pickup covers?

Rabs

Hello,

Im new to the forums even though ive been visiting the site for many years now (and make comments on the guitar pages)..

I had a question that i thought may be served best on the forums.

I have a 2008 Standard and am thinking about removing the pickup covers as I prefer the look (and I think it may sound a bit snappier without them).

Has anyone done this? Is it advisable?

Any helpful hints would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Rabs...

Hello,

Im new to the forums even though ive been visiting the site for many years now (and make comments on the guitar pages)..

I had a question that i thought may be served best on the forums.

I have a 2008 Standard and am thinking about removing the pickup covers as I prefer the look (and I think it may sound a bit snappier without them).

Has anyone done this? Is it advisable?

Any helpful hints would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Rabs...

I've never done it but I have played guitars with humbuckers without covers. They can be more subject to outside interference, and some people do say they sound "snappier" or a little bit more lively. The jury is out on that.

You have to either remove the solder that holds the cover on or use something like a Dremel tool to cut through it. Are the pickups you have "potted"? That means that there is wax or epoxy filling all of the air gaps between the cover and the coils. That would be a much larger undertaking and I'd suggest at that point buying pickups without covers to try out.

Hi there and thanks for the reply.

Well I have a 2002 LP Classic (the one in my picture)that has uncovered pups and I totally love the sound of it but it has totally different pickups and a solid body. The 2008 has Busrtbucker pros and a chambered body.. So I just wondered if anyone else on here had tried it with the Burstbuckers that may well be designed to have covers and not perfrom so well without them??