Gibson Brands Forums

Recommendations Appreciated

SRV-Zeppelin

Hello all, I don't do a lot of posting in the acoustic forums, but I was hoping to get some help.

As soon as I'm done paying off my Les Paul (see avatar) I plan on getting a good electric-acoustic Gibson as I play acoustic a lot and do a lot of gigging. I'm looking at either a J-45, J-185, ir SJ-200 Modern Classic (I would go with TV but don't want to do after-market work to have electronics installed) and was hoping to attain some info.

What's the difference between a normal J-185 and the J-185 EC, other than the cutaway? ($700 difference according to MF)

And which guitar would you recommend? (of the 3 models previously listed)

Thanks in advance for the help,

SRV-Zeppelin

Hi. Good to have you over here.

I'm no expert on the J185 but one of the differences between the normal and EC models, is the electronics.

The normal MC has a soundhole volume control, whereas the EC has on board eq and tuner, located on the upper side.

I have an SWD cutaway which has the Fishman on board controls which I understand are on the J185 EC and I really like it. I have gigged a couple of times with several others in a band and I use one of those rubber feedback cancelling thingys, that locates in the sound hole. I don't think you can use these with the "normal" electronics as you would not have access to the volume control. Could be wrong about that though.

This may be important when playing live (as you said you do) if feedback is a problem. You can also,to an extent, dail out some feedback with the eq.

I love the versatility of mine even though I don't do very much live, it's great to have the flexibility when I do.

The Fishman used in the cutaway seems to be less popular on this forum than the Baggs electronics which I believe are in the non cutaway versions of the SWD and J185. I've played an SWD12 with the Baggs electrics and it's top class.