Gibson Brands Forums

60's tribute or 60's studio tribute?

CrazyCanuck

Hi, I noticed that some 60's tribute have the same colored backs as the front while some have black backs. Other than esthetic diffrences are they the same guitar? Is one model better than the other? The electronics and the body seem the same. So why would gibson make 2 different models of the same guitar? Thank you, and have a nice day

Hi,

I'm no expert, but I think the original 50's and 60's Studio Tribute (light back) were limited runs; however they proved so popular Gibson made a minor change and carried on producing them.

Regards,

Ian.

[thumbup] pretty much.. something along those lines... Now theres a whole load of new Tributes cos they were so well received and its cos they are such great value for money...

I got one of the first run 60s tributes.. man I love that guitar its in the "I never want to sell it" catagory. :)

[thumbup] pretty much.. something along those lines... Now theres a whole load of new Tributes cos they were so well received and its cos they are such great value for money...

I got one of the first run 60s tributes.. man I love that guitar its in the "I never want to sell it" catagory. :)

I have a 60's tribute in Honeyburst (not the dark back) and I never want to sell it. The certificate that came with it was dated at the Nashville factory in September 2011 just days after the raid. I really like the P90's sound when coupled with my Gibson GA-5 reissue tube amp. No digital sound for me!

Yep, same here. 60's Tribute, Honetburst, before the raid.Rosewood board, no darkback, first run.

P90's. it'sa great sounding , playing and looking guitar. I'll never part with it either. I have a 72 Strat, 57 Danone U1 and a 62 Supro Martinique and the Tribute has become my go to guitar.