Gibson Brands Forums

Single-coil question

heymisterk

Happy New Year!

I have a question about single-coil pick-ups and what makes them noisy vs. less noisy.

Now, as a certifiable P-90 nut, I am aware that you get the trademark hum because the P-90s have much more winding than a traditional single-coil. My question is, Is that why some other single-coils hum more than others? It stands to reason, but I am a technical novice with this stuff.

When I took my MIM Tele for my lesson, I struck up a question with the owner of the guitar shop and he told me he thinks MIM Tele's are great values for the money, but that I might want to consider swapping out the pick-ups because they are noisy.

Indeed they are, but I love the sound of them. So, the question is, Do I have to take more hum for a hotter sound as a package deal, just like my P-90s? (Note: I tried a guitar once with a noise-cancelling P-90, and I do NOT think is sounded as good.) Finally, do any of you have an aftermarket pick-up recommendation (especially for the bridge) for a Tele that strikes a balance between noise and hot-ness?

Thanks in advance?

Happy New Year!

I am not sure what it is in the design and build of a single coil that makes them noisy but I know that computer monitors, fluorescent lights and what outlet your amp is plugged into can contribute to the noise.

As for recommendations: you can't go wrong with GFS pickups, great quality at a great price, I have used a couple of their pickups and they are a great value.

It looks like they have noiseless pickups with options for output. Their page also has sound clips.

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Neovin-bridge-Pickups_c_141.html

Best to read around the subject for a full understanding of noisy pickups

Try 'wiki humbucker' for a detailed explanation... [thumbup]

All single coils hum more or less

Hence the creation of the 'humbucker' pickup to cancel out AC mains induced hum and interference