Gibson Brands Forums

Bridge pin material on my Doves?

solving

So, yesterday I re-strung my Doves In Flight…

I've been reading a little about different material for the bridge pins and started looking at the ones on my Doves and I'm no expert but my guess is that they're plastic.

Considering it's a expensive Custom guitar I have I feel that plastic is not what I want.

I can't find any info on Gibson.com

How can I tell the difference between plastic and i.e ivory ???

Now I don't think I could tell the difference sonically between wood, ivory, tusq or whatever but I know these materials has a better durability and would like to replace my pins to something more high standard

So I did the glowing needle test.........A $ 5.000 guitar and the put plastic pins on it..... I know I can't hear the differnce but I bought a luxurious guitar and they the saddle and nut are bone...... i think it's low........[confused]

dove_zpsbb83d3f4.jpg

Uuups, you went straight for the ball - bang.

It must mean you knew you would exchange them immediately if plastic.

But keep your eyes on the ball – it's clear there is a 'molding-line' right over the top (don't know what it's called in English).

You wouldn't see that on any kind of bone.

Let's hear what you hear when the new ones are down.

Btw. apart from the 'molding-line', many players seem to be quite satisfied with plast.

Board member EA f.x. finds that it is the plast which provides the real and final touch of sticky glimmer to the Hummingbird honey glaze.

Others just accept the material as fine or no issue.

Guess it can be seen as a possibility to add your personal touch to the guitar - like the tr-cover, but here with effect on the sound also.

I change most of mine to different materials and do the last sonic adjustment that way.

Enjoy the little mission.

.A $ 5.000 guitar and the put plastic pins on it.....