Gibson Brands Forums

Portable PA bundles

Bongoscot

Hi folks. I have been jamming with a couple guys in a garage and we would like to start trying to sing a bit, and maybe attract other people to sing with us so I am interested in getting a portable PA package, maybe an everything included bundle type thing. It seems there are quite a few options out there and I thought I would bring it up here since this forum always gives me good answers to my music questions.

I dont need anything real fancy or high powered right now. Just enough power to fill a garage with sound and maybe eventually a very small gig. Something portable, easy to set up and break down, good sound, and last but not least, want to stay below $500. I have seen some offerings from Fender, Yamaha, Peavey, Beringer, and a few others that all seem to meet my needs on paper, but I have no experience with any of this stuff so I call on you, my all knowing musical internet friends. Thanks in advance. [thumbup]

NO! Okay here is the thing. I needed a PA for me to rehearse singing with my ex-drummer.

I went through this before and they're gonna try to sell you two cheap amps with a cheap mixer.

I got a Beringer Eurolive 8215 and a Yamaha MG82cx. I got the beringer for $150 ($300 if I'd gotten both) and the Yamaha new for $130. That's under $500 and much better quality and louder speakers and a mixer with built in effects and compressor (there's a Yamaha MG82 w/o fx that's cheaper still but does have the compressor). Now, you can get a deal on a combo that's less than the $500 BUT I tried that and the sound on those cheapies SUCK A$$. Not to mention resale value...in case I sell I know what I got won't loose much value.

The Beringer is solid and LOUD and the Yamaha I got had good reviews on the sites I researched.

My 2 cents. Good luck!

Dave has a super point - how many folks need to plug into a PA?