Gibson Brands Forums

Limited J200

Twisted sister

... If he's not a dealer, how does he get them? ...

From an authorized dealer. Gibson only sells to its authorized dealers.

... And will Gibson warranty them if they're not from an authorized dealer? ...

Authorized dealers cannot legally sell new stock on eBay. However, if the seller is an authorized dealer -- or a formerly authorized dealer, or an agent for an authorized dealer -- the buyer may very well get a receipt that will enable him or her to get warranty coverage without question. Since eBay is just a broker, the buyer bought directly from an authorized dealer and I don't see any basis for denial of coverage in the warranty. (Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer.) But, if the question arose, the burden would be on the buyer to demonstrate that the seller was the dealer or acting for the dealer -- and how could one do that? OTOH, if the seller is just someone who can buy from a dealer at a heavily discounted price, the buyer is definitely not entitled to warranty coverage, even if the seller buys it from the dealer specifically for the buyer and includes a receipt with the buyer's from the dealer. The buyer couldn't very well claim that the seller was acting as his or her agent when making the purchase, given that the eBay ad offers a guitar, not services.

The buyer is definitely taking a risk, even if the seller can include a receipt from a dealer with the buyer's name on it. If Gibson finds out that the guitar was purchased through eBay, they can almost certainly deny coverage.

-- Bob R