Gibson Brands Forums

Building your own amp

RichCI

Any of you guys do that? I was toying with the idea several years ago and even bought some books; I'm great with logic but suck at math. There's a web site called AX84 that has lots of projects rated by skill level, even for the total beginner. The AX84 P1-eXtreme Tube Guitar Amplifier looks like a great one to start with and something I can actually make good use of at home after it's put together.

Thing is, I live in an apartment with not a lot of extra space and I don't think I'll have the room to work on something like this for a few weeks without inconveniencing my girlfriend. Any apartment dwellers ever take on one of these projects? Any tips or general advice that I could use?

Thanks!

I'm in the planning process for building an amp now. There are a few different web sites that sell kits and have forums where the guys are willing to help you.

Here are a few links - but there are more out there, these are the ones I've heard have great amp kits and support via the owners and forums

CeriaTone

I'm considering the OverTone Special kit

Brown Note Amps

I'm considering the Dlite 22

Mission Amps

This one is close to my home and a copy of the 5E3 Fender Delux is easier than the two above (both copies of Dumble overdrive special) so this may be the place for a newbie to start

GabKits

This is a site for cabinets, but also check out the Amp Garage link. Gabi has posted YouTube videos of building an amp that is extremely helpful.

Forums: All of these are helpful!!

Brown Note Forum

CeriaTone Forum

This one below is limited to building Train Wrecks and Dumble clones, but helpful to read what they have to say no matter what type of amp you build.

The Amp Garage

The most important thing - Amps contain parts with LETHAL voltages so be very careful.