Gibson Brands Forums

Do I need to change the stock strings on an Epi les paul?

TravisMc

Hey guys,

I'm new to guitar and after an extensive search, I've finally found the perfect Les Paul for me.

My question is simple...being a new guitar, the fretboard is dry...and I'd like to oil it asap to keep it looking good. I should use bore oil right? I know the oil argument has been had a million times, but I hear bore oil is the best nowadays? Is there something better?

Back to the actual question, since I'll likely be taking the strings off to oil it, what strings should I put on? I've heard slinky's are good? Thoughts?

Last question: should I just leave well enough alone? How critical is it that I oil the fretboard right away? How long could I wait? Will it do damage?

Thanks for any and all advice!

Yes, I recommend you changing the stock strings. They came with 10s on them.

I use Ernie Ball Regular Slinky (10-46). But there are lots of fine brands out there. Try several out and see what you like best.

Same with what you put on your fretboard. There are lots of choices, and each person has there preference. I like Gerlitz Guitar Honey. I've been using this stuff for quite a few years and like the results. One tip, if I may; don't over do it on the oil, whatever you use. Apply conservatively.

honey_large.jpg

Epiphone Les Paul guitars come with very bright sounding .010" to .046" roundwound strings stock. In case you like the tone, nickel plated steel wounds should be fine. If you want it mellow, pure nickel wounds might be for you.

In the past I regularly treated rosewood fretboards with linseed stand oil but do nothing more like that since about fifteen years. The only exception has been polishing the black dye off of my Epiphone Les Paul's fretboard last year using Klever Ballistol vegetable gun oil.