Gibson Brands Forums

Learning About Guitars Online

I have learned so much from online videos regarding guitar maintenance, refinishing, etc. and I am happy that this is readily available today. When I started playing guitar, I never had this resource available. So I greatly appreciate this information being around today as I don't have to be at the mercy of some "guitar tech" ripping me off with their crappy setup that I do not find satisfactory. Overall, I can greatly appreciate the internet for this resource alone. Because I have spent a lot of time watching tons of videos of guitar related issues, I have become more knowledgeable to maintain my instruments. As well, you can also get reviews of certain models... Just so much today online that you can learn from.

If anyone else has experiences that they can share that they learned how to do something proficiently from the internet (videos, forums, articles, etc.), I'd be happy to explore some other topics... I like watching refinishing guitar videos, repair videos, troubleshooting videos, reviews, etc. IMHO, it is worth it for any serious guitarist to spend some time getting an education today from the kind contributions of others to make your instrument(s) play at their peak performance. I honestly want to make informative videos myself to contribute to the community as this seems like something I would greatly enjoy.

On the side note, I am still working when I can on my Nighthawk I am refinishing/repairing. I work plenty (day job) and have to take care of my family when I arrive home, so when I get time in the evenings, I spend a little time here and there to address my personal tasks. I will be sharing pictures of the finished product hopefully soon... I wish I took a video on the beginning steps, but at least I will have some pictures that I can share. Right now, nothing much to look at than a partially stripped piece of wood... Not very exciting, but I expect this to look great when it is done!