Gibson Brands Forums

Hello Everyone/Feeling the itch, pretty sure it isn't crabs this time.

TinFish

Hello everyone! I thought since I was new to the forum I would make a single thread (apart from the thread introducing myself) covering all the topics on my mind.

So as you can see I am thinking about getting a new guitar. I would like to sell my SG Special and purchase one of the above guitars, though I may hang onto it since it's been such a trooper for me and wouldn't fetch a ton of money.

I have been playing SG's for about 10 years and I just feel like they fit like a glove. I really like everything about them, in terms of aesthetics and utility. I really like where the controls are located (not a big fan of the toggle switch location on Les Pauls) and I really like a comfortable guitar. The only thing I could possibly complain about is their tendency to take a neck dive when you let go of them when playing with a strap.

On the other hand I have been looking at the Las Paul Traditional Gold Top just about everyday online, I just think it looks beautiful and I wouldn't mind adding a different guitar to my collection. I just find them so beefy I don't know if I could ever get used to it. I am planning on renting one for a month or so to see if I can make the adjustment. As with a lot of other poster's I think I would prefer the swiss cheese body to a chambered one.