Gibson Brands Forums

Well I just got screwed...

callen3615

I got the shaft at work yesterday. I have been working at the same golf course for 4 years now. I am the senior cart staff member. There are 2 positions to work there, carts, and the grill.

7-2 Carts-pull up carts from the basement until we are out of tee times. Wash and store any carts that finish, no tips here

2-close carts-Wash all carts that finish, blow off the parking area, get up all the trash and take it to the dumpster, spray off the area where we wash carts. no tips at all

7-2 grill-get hotdogs ready, stock condiments, stock napkins, straws, keep tables and drink machine clean, keep restocking snacks and bottled drinks. oh and make tips

2-close grill-keep grill open til 5ish then close it down, wash everything in the grill, vacuum proshop, clean and mop bathrooms. not many tips on this shift.

So when I started It was consensus that the new guys started working carts mostly to close.

The veteran workers got to choose there hours and if they wanted to work in the grill.

I have gotten to the point were my boss was letting me work 2 days a week 7-2 in the grill.

Its the perfect shift. You sell food and make tips. Its the easiest shift a cart guy can work.

Now that the summer is starting he asked me what hours I wanted to work..

Well I am saving for a lp custom so I said I wanted to work wed-sat 7-2 in the grill.

He said that would be fine.

Yesterday we had a staff meeting to get the hours finally figured out. then he tells us that the owner wants to hire a new "grill lady" to work in the grill mon-fri.

All of our hours get cut, I dont get the work in the grill but once a week and Im only getting to work 2 and 12 days instead of the 4 days I was promised.

Did I get screwed or am I being unfair here?

Did I get screwed or am I being unfair here?

Both.