Gibson Brands Forums

Half Stack Vs Full Stack??

DuaLeaD

Perhaps this is a question with no definitive answer but I am in the process of upgrading from a B-52 AT-212 Combo amp to a B-52 AT 100W Head with Marshall 1960 cabs.

When does one want/need a full stack instead of a half stack?? I hear the square cab on the bottom will help add more bass and give a fuller tone. I am a lead guitarist by the way and I'm looking for a sweet amp setup to go with my 2007 Les Paul Supreme. Money is not the issue here.

****Also, can someone please explain why the ohm settings on the amp matter? I notice some have more choices and people have cited this as a factor for buying particular models of amps in their reviews.

It really depends on the size rooms you're playing and, to a lesser extent, the style of music. For hard rock and heavy metal, certainly you can get away with playing louder as long as the venue is known for that sort of thing.

Personally, I think that unless you're playing pretty large rooms (like theaters), anything more than a half stack is overkill and even a half stack is too much for a lot of clubs. The trend these days is to use lower powered amps (20-50w) and let the PA handle the house which allows the sound engineer to get a good mix without having to compete with a blaring loud guitar amp.

Wattage is an even bigger factor and a 100w tube guitar amp is a lot of power. My Mesa is 100w and it's ridiculous for what I'm doing; I never take the volume knob past 9 o'clock which is like driving a Ferrari in first gear to buy groceries. If I decide to replace that amp, it will be with something no more than 50w and probably less. There's not much point in a tube power section if you're not pushing it a bit and 100w is really loud before it starts breaking up.