Gibson Brands Forums

looking for suggestions and knowledge

nickb

Hello! I'm Nick the newbie from TN. I have been reading alot of what is said about Gibson for a while in this forum and thought maybe I could pick your brains for a little help. I have been playing for several years and have owned a few different brands and I am looking for that "go to" guitar. I am currently playing an Alvarez DY62C and really like the action and the way that it fits me. I also own a late 60's Dove that was a gift from my dad. (he's a martin lover) The neck is a little small at the nut for my comfort. I have been doing some looking and am interested in your opinions about the pros and cons of the differences between the Advanced Jumbo and the J45. (Other than the obvious scale differences) I do know that I want Rosewood back and sides. And i know that everyone has a different opinion on what works for them. But would like to know what some of you have to say. Thanks!

Hi nickb and welcome to the forum.

Have you played a songwriter? Rosewood b&s. I love mine and it's certainly my goto guitar. It's not for the traditionalists in many ways. Growly, almost brash with lots of complex overtones. Listen to Dave Grohl when he plays acoustic - alot of that is on a songwriter. Also the bling is not everyone's cup of tea.

I've not played an AJ, but the SWD is a very different beast to a J45 - think dry, woody, Dylan type tones.

Hopefully some others will chime in here.

The newer SJ's & the J45's are very similar guitars.