Gibson Brands Forums

Any information on my SJ-200, I'm new to great guitars?

liam

Hi all,

I have just received my Gibson SJ-200 and have a limited amount of information on it so any help would be appreciated.

It is a sunburst SJ-200 and has gold Grover tuners and an Ellipse Aura pick-up, the serial number is 00599046 and the white internal sticker says SJ-200 standard.

Can anyone shed any light on these facts to tell me age or any other info would be appreciated.

Cheers

Liam

Hi Liam

Congrats on a fabulous guitar and welcome to the forum.

There are quite a few members who own 200s on here so I'll leave it to them to wax lyrical about your new bat.

The serial number states that it was made in 2009 and is the 46th neck to be stamped on the 59th day of that year.

Something like

YDDDYSSS Y= year, D=day, S=series(on a given day)

Yours with jealousy!

Hi!

Congrats for the WOWnderful guitar you have now!

Did you ordered the guitar or somebody made a present to you?

If the choice was yours - tell us why did you pick that model of Gibson Acoustics?

Post some pictures of the guitar please and tell us what was the first song you played on that powerful treasure?

Welcome! The SJ-200 is a fine piece - own one myself in Western Classic dress. An '09 200 with factory pickup must be the Modern Classic version, but I'm surmising this as I'm not sure which pickup they are installing. You say yours says "Standard" on the label.....hmmm. Maybe it is a standard with an aftermarket pickup install. White is the color of the new Gibson labels......seems I remember hearing of this change sometime last year. Anyhoo, enjoy your new 200!!