Gibson Brands Forums

Philosophy on todays Rock Guitarists and a wicked SG

That's right hellbound, Unknown Hinson is the man.

There used to be a video available on Guitar Player.com where he played several songs. It's gone now.

But his playing on Fishcamp Woman is some of the best I've ever heard or seen. The guy is a genius.

I've been waiting for him to come to California for two years now. Been in contact with his management company too.

Bought his live album. It's a good rocking fun album.

Anyway, glad to see you know a good guitar player when you see one.

Unknown is very talented.

He's a great guitarist and all, but what I find strange is that Stu can make a comment about today's 15 years old kids and their approach to the guitar, but will play Jimi Hendrix covers[confused] ...... I started playing guitar around the Jimi Hendrix period, and all the guys that were older (like Stu is now) would say that was noise and such[angry] ..... it used to piss me off.

So here comes Stu now pontificating about 15 year old kids doing the same thing he did when he was probably their age, and still doing it now...... I guess Stu forgot that Jimi was the heavy metal god for 15 year old kids of the late 60's and early 70's:-k

Don't get me wrong, I don't get some of today's metal / rock. But then again I certainly don't expect a 15 year old to see eye to eye with a old guy like me on most things[biggrin]

Closed minded people piss me off. They just think music needs to follow the same bullshit rules and certain music doesn't take any talent. What I say is **** them! Say Buckethead's music doesn't take any talent, then try to shred at 20 nps. Later you might hear him play bluegrass, classical, country, funk, etc. That would surprise the **** out of you.