Gibson Brands Forums

What Do you Record With?

twanger

Looks like a nice unit to me! Of course, the BIG expense in this little project is going to be the 16 microphones it's going to take to make it happen ... sheesh!

My home set-up is much simpler: a Line 6 UX2, my computer, an installed copy of Sony Acid 7.0, whatever instrument I am going to record and me! Naturally I'm not recording a band ... I AM the band ... so I am only recording one instrument at a time!

Jim

Thanks for the replies everyone!

I want to record for a review of how good/bad we sound and to put together a demo for future gigs at newer (read: better paying) venues.

I've got all the mics, DI's and cables I need and then some. My day job is soundman at a local college since I sold my sound company a while back. I also do briefcase gigs for a tour company out of Chicago and I've been busy putting together a small PA system for me and the band.

I figure the SD card and USB port will be real handy to offload to the drummer's laptop or to my desktop. We can also monitor/playback through the PA at rehearsal. For the demo I have Audacity on my computer and it's more than adequate for mixing a demo to burn on a cd.

I guess more than anything I'm wondering about the ease of use/reliability/utility of the Zoom and the SD format more than anything else. The last multitrack I used was an Alesis that used S-VHS tape. I also used a 424 (Tascam?) cassette multitrack recorder. I have the SD card in my camera and I haven't had any troubles with it and don't even have to take it out of the camera to offload it on to my computer or erase the images from the card because the computer does all that for me. But I'm just not that familiar with how well the SD card will take audio.