Gibson Brands Forums

CRACK in my Masterbilt AJ-500MeVS

lomolca+

I am new to the Epi forum and firstly I'd like to say hi and thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. :)

My Epiphone AJ-500Me has a crack starting at the bridge plate and running to the binding on the tail edge - please see the two links below. You can see that the split runs with the grain and is wide enough to take a thin piece of paper. :-({|=

AJ-500 Photo1 Photo2

The crack just appeared but the guitar hasn't been beaten, banged or dropped. I bought the guitar in the US but am now in the UK. I have emailed Gibson but no reply so far - is this a possible waranty repair / replacement?

Hi lomolca,

sorry to hear about this crack.

I don't have the right answer about waranty repair etc, but there are other possible reasons why this happened. Humidity. Did U check if humidity was too low (under 35%), or if humidity/temperature change happened too fast?

U traveled from US to UK, can U tell how guitar was sent? Maybe conditions changed rapidly...

Welcome to the forum, but yikes. What a crack. Sorry to see that.

Whether it is a warranty issue depends on several things. I'm no expert, but my friend Charlie Hoffman is, and here's an article he wrote on the subject for "Acoustic Guitar" magazine:

http://www.acousticguitar.com/article/default.aspx?articleid=25114

When did you notice the crack? You said you bought the guitar in the U.S., but you're now in the U.K. -- did the crack happen during transportation? Was there some baggage-handler involvement? Was there a big change in humidity when you moved the guitar from one locale to the other? Some woods, particularly greener ones, seem more susceptible to cracking than others.

Good luck.

Hi Bigsound and dhanners23 - thank you both for the quick replies!