Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie here, and I have a question....

Tex-Dot

I just picked up my first Epiphone at Guitar Center last night - It's a 2004 Dot Studio:

epidot2.jpg

epidot1.jpg

Sorry for the crappy phone pic quality, I haven't had time to take some decent ones yet.

My question is concerning the dot inlays. Did any of the Dot Studio's come with them? I can't find any like it online that had them and it has me thinking that the previous owner might have had it customized. If anyone can shed any light on it, I'd appreciate it.

As for the ax, I love it. I'm a beginner, having only been playing for a year or so, but this is the perfect electric for me. [blink] I got a great deal on it.

Never seen that, probably an after market add on, the twelfth fret dots seem a little close to the edges to be a factory job. Prolly DIY since the cost of inlaying the dots would be as much as the guitar.

Never seen that' date=' probably an after market add on, the twelfth fret dots seem a little close to the edges to be a factory job. Prolly DIY since the cost of inlaying the dots would be as much as the guitar.[/quote']

Yeah, thats what I figured. I wasn't sure if some of the older ones had them or not. Thanks!

tried researching this for you, I couldn't find a single dot studio with inlays. There's the Dot studio and the dot deluxe but not a dot studio deluxe, seems to me that it would be kind of strange to call it a studio deluxe anyway.

I wish Epiphone would put a link to pdf's of back catalogs on the main website., maybe they do but I couldn't find any. I found a 2003 catalog online but it didn't have a dot studio in it. Having access to the catalogs would help out a lot in situations like this. plus I'd love to see a catalog with my Gold LP Jr in it.

Not sure if it helps or not but the serial number on the back of the headstock is EE04040205. The sticker on the inside of the body doesn't have the serial number on it.