Gibson Brands Forums

I broke it. ????

[confused]

I just bought my first ever electric guitar. A beauty. A used 07 Epi LP studio. Like new. Been playing it the last few days and I have been lovin life. So, since I haven't played in like 15 years got up this moring and went to practice. Tuned it up with the electonic tuner and plugged in into the amp. But (remember I'm new to this) stuck the cord into the headphone jack. Now, I got nothin'. No noise from the amp. The Korg tuner doesn't see a signal either. Have I killed it? Really?

Unlikely, dude.

Guitars just don't break overnight. Try the obvious. Volume knobs, standby switches, pedal batteries, cords etc. And believe me, if it is something silly, you will not be the first to slap your forehead and look around to make sure no one saw.

Keep us posted.

Yeah, that what I figured at first too. So I set everything at mid point, set the amp at 4, flipped the toggle and tried all settings. Then I hooked it up to the tuner that had just worked and got no signal there either. But Y'all agree, plugging into the headphone jack shouldn't break it? Right? [confused]

Oh yeah, and all I have is the amp (Frontman 15-G) and the guitar. Don't see any kind of standby switch.

And you made sure the cable was pushed in all the way? On the guitar, and the amp?

I only ask because sometimes on my fender amp I don't push it in all the way and for a second I can't figure out what's wrong.

[confused]

Now' date=' I got nothin'. No noise from the amp. The Korg tuner doesn't see a signal either. Have I killed it? Really?

[/quote'] Highly doubtful you've hurt the guitar .... dunno 'bout the amp..... but I could be wrong on both counts....almost makes me want to try with my disposable Epiphone Studio 15R ss amp, but.....I kind of like having a backup to my backup amp [wink]

Its probably just a loose connection' date=' open it up and look for anything obvious.[/quote']