Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Les Paul Standard PROBLEM!

Ryaan

i have a problem with my epiphone les paul,

basically my problem is it will occasionally lose sound, you'll be playing and it'll get quieter and quieter until it sounds virtually clean but slightly distorted then it will pick back up to what it was like before hand, it doesn't do this often but it is very annoying, i do have 2 other guitars, this happened with my other epiphone too (sg) and that has a fault with the input, of which being busy i haven't come to fix it. my dare i say it PRS SE, is fine, but i mean, could this be the same problem as the sg? or is it another problem?

all in all i love my les paul but due to the fact i need money for going to collage and getting things for that, of which im studying music i'd love to know if this is the problem so that i can atleast make someone else happy with a guitar that i do love.

it's not the amp, im pretty sure of that as it never happens with other guitars, but it has happened on a friends amp, so i mean, could it be the input? i mean it's a 2006 model, not that that should make a difference im just thinking maybe it could be a problem within the wiring, or the switch at that.

Ryann, did you buy the guitar (Les Paul Standard) used or new? If it's used and you bought it sight unseen, then maybe that's why you didn't notice

a problem inherently. You might just need to take it to a guitar tech and have them check the wiring and get it fixed before you sell it and go to

college. If you bought it new, recently, I'd bring it back to the shop you bought it from and tell them to fix it. And before anyone says, but it's a 2006,

it's possible that it's been it the store for that long. Believe me, I've seen that before. So it's possible from just hanging around or being played,

sometimes banged around (I've seen some of the way people abuse guitars when they're trying them out) that shorts can occur. Has this been doing