Gibson Brands Forums

epi les paul classic qm top vs prs se santana

maelstrom

prs se santana vs epi lp classic.

both are in the same shape. epi is 05 chinese prs is 01 korean.

$200 for prs $250 for epi. what would you buy.

im pretty new to all of this so i cant really say what feels best yet. only been playing about 6 months. i wanted to know which is the better value.

thanks.

prs se santana vs epi lp classic.

both are in the same shape. epi is 05 chinese prs is 01 korean.

$200 for prs $250 for epi. what would you buy.

im pretty new to all of this so i cant really say what feels best yet. only been playing about 6 months. i wanted to know which is the better value.

thanks.

Can't offer you much advise on the PRS. but I bought a '99 epi paul and freakin' LOVE IT!! I probably played about 3 or 4 les pauls new, and an epi dot. Played half a song with it and knew this was the one. Asked the dude that was hwlping me why it played so much better. he said that the guitar had been played, broken in. And ive been playing for about as long as you have( a year). Ive seen a couple of epi classics and they look pretty cool. The quilt top is awesome.

Mabey I could help you this way, what kind of music do you like/play? Whats your current guitar? acoustic?

Paul Reed Smith has two basic goals regarding his guitars:

1. You should be able to take one of his guitars out of the cardboard box and go immediately to a gig ... no setups, no adjustments needed. I'd say that from the guitars I've handled at work, he acheives about a very admirable 95% in this regard.

2. He wants to appeal to ALL players ... namely both the Gibson and the Fender camps.

Here's where I have a problem with PRS guitars. When you hear a Les Paul playing, you pretty much KNOW it's a Gibson. Same with the sound of a Telecaster or a Strat. PRS guitars are very beautiful to look at and a pleasure to play ... but to me, they are completely devoid of personality!