Gibson Brands Forums

Overwhelmed by pickup choices: match my new Epi 175 to my 58

Goldenvoice

Hi, new to the board, but I've been making sweet love to my 58 Gibson 175D blondy since 1985:)

She sports the original PAFs, and I do a wide variety of music, but mostly 50s pop, rockabilly, and western; stringing her up with Chromes 11s jazz-light.

Anyway, yesterday, she went in to have the original frets finally replaced, and for fill-in (and travel) I picked up a new Epi 175 - sweet-meats for the money, but I'm advised to upgrade the pickups.

So, herein lies the issue. There are so many PAF copies out there, my head starts to spin reading up on all of them. The salesman yesterday was leaning my toward Burstbucker I for the neck, II for the bridge. I realize this is a Gibson board,(just as he is a Gibson dealer), so maybe some may feel strange about recommending anything but Gibson pups, but what of others, such as the Duncan Antiques?

I play mostly both pups, wide open - only jump to the bridge for Cash tunes. I know the Epi will not keep pace with the 58, with her age, beauty, and true PAFs, but I want to get as close, balance and volume wise, as I can - a smooth shoe-in.

What do you guys think? The 58 used the same pup in both positions, correct? If so, I'd think I'd want to do the same. The Duncans are built on the same machine as the originals... There are some 'boutique' pups out there, but the whole idea is keep the cost reasonably low...

?

Get the Epi at least in part to protect the old master...

Don't diddle with pups for at least a year, but instead consider a couple different string choices, including Elixirs. That messing with strings should help cover that year's time period. At that point in time you can better decide what you wanna do - and won't be necessarily chasing something that ain't there.