Gibson Brands Forums

Anyone who's good at photography and Photoshop?

Sancho Panza

So, I was looking at some records today and came across The Hollies - Evolution (great album by the way!) and I was immediately stucked by the cover! I'm not a photo expert and I don't know my way in Photoshop, at all, but who did the photographer produced the image? I read that he used plastic, but can one produce the same effect in photoshop, or any other photo-like programs?

hollies0607.jpg

Thanks

Yeah, in the olden days one could do quite a bit in a "wet darkroom" if one took the time. For example, I used to do "unsharp masks" and very few folks even knew what they were until PhotoShop came out and folks were going digital.

You could do 'most anything. It just took time and a lot of trial and error.

m

Yeah, in the olden days one could do quite a bit in a "wet darkroom" if one took the time. For example, I used to do "unsharp masks" and very few folks even knew what they were until PhotoShop came out and folks were going digital.

You could do 'most anything. It just took time and a lot of trial and error.

m

Milod,

Was that back when you still had to stick your head under the blanket and the big explosive and smoky poof of the flash would go off? msp_flapper.gifmsp_flapper.gifmsp_flapper.gifmsp_w00t.gifmsp_lol.gif

That is why people spend 3 years in university studying graphic design, so "anyone" can get a couple of photos and photoshop and get the same aesthetic thang going on......... [-([flapper]](*,)

same principle as I have word processor therefore I can write a novel......

Good graphic design does not spring from computers, cameras, programs.....it springs from talented graphic designers......

Imagine having a 59 and a Dumble and no chops........ [scared]

You should be able to do something like in photoshop by using layers and playing with the transparencies. However, I bet he did the original a little different [biggrin]