Gibson Brands Forums

Can Someone Describe "Muddy"

29Tudor

I've heard the term "muddy" used as both a positive and negative when describing

pickup tone. I've been messing with guitars for many years and can truthfully say I

don't know what muddy means. I play Blues (BADLY!) and like a dark, maybe muddy

tone. I know what I don't like, harsh screechy tones, which to me are the opposite

of muddy.

I've heard the term "muddy" used as both a positive and negative when describing

pickup tone. I've been messing with guitars for many years and can truthfully say I

don't know what muddy means. I play Blues (BADLY!) and like a dark, maybe muddy

tone. I know what I don't like, harsh screechy tones, which to me are the opposite

of muddy.

I consider muddy to be an apt term whenever articulation is affected adversely. You can have an 80's mega distortion that isn't muddy, or a clean tone played ever so gently that IS muddy. It's a cross blending of signals/ tones that seems loose and undefined, sometimes it's subtle and other times glaringly obvious.

That's my take on muddy.[confused]

Muddy is going to be a darker sound, roll off a bit of tone on the guitar and then start messing with the lows and mids on your amp (generally decreasing them) to achieve that fluid but slightly dirty sound. You can achieve it by messing around with the gain as well; however you wanna be careful so you do start distorting the sound. Its that nice little area were the amp sound starts to distort but not far enough were it start crunching or you get too far from blues and too close to rock, if that makes any sense!

I consider muddy to be an apt term whenever articulation is affected adversely.

+1...Lacking in definition.....

Even if a sound is dark, it still can have a defined sound. (the notes stand out)

If it lacks that articulation the sound is muddy.

My opinion only,

Willy

+1...Lacking in definition.....