Gibson Brands Forums

Advice & opinions please!

Hall

Ok guys. I put it here so you would see it. I am looking for a Marshall half stack at 100 watts and 4x12 cab. I was about to try out the Vintage Modern when I read it's covering is "PURPLE"! Eh, color doesn't sound like me. I've played Twins for years, Blues & Rock. Just passed on a Stangray 'cause I want the Marshall sound for my old Gibson Pauls & ES models. I really need some help here, though I'm studying, Marshall amps is my weak area of knowledge. I would sure appreciate suggestions, etc. from everybody on this one. Thanks!

Steve

what sound do you want? do you want original marshall sound (beano, hendrix) that can do modern stuff? the VM is great for that.

do you want 70s style in your face rock? try the 50w/100w SLP reissues.

do want something with all the bells and whistles? try a JVM.

what about channels? the VM is a single channel.

ease of use/ease of dialing in? the JVM has lots of knobs. the VM doesnt but is much harder to dial in IMO.

we need a lot more info from ya.

Just about to take delivery of my Vintage Modern 2466. The purple is very dark...Its not that obvious...... also getting a JCM 1936 2x12 cab.

I started a thred on this amp a week ago...Dig back a few pages and you will find it...AWSOME AMP. Just come down in price too......

Flight959

I'm not a real big fan of modern Marshalls, not even the reissue stuff.

Also, 100 watts is a lot of horsepower. Truly over kill for most venues.

If you've played blues on Twins for years, and you want a little more of a Marshall type bite with your LP, then I would go with a Reinhardt. In fact, that's what I play. They're all point to point, hand wired, with top notch components and they're about the same price as the Marshalls you're looking at.

Trust me, you owe it to yourself to play one. Hey, Mark Knopfler did and that's what he's using now.