Gibson Brands Forums

open or closed back cabs

turtle

I'm no amp expert but I happened to have both in the room behind me right now. The closed back seems to have more bottom rumble and the open back is airier if that's a word. The '65 Deluxe Reverb is an open back, and it seems to highlight the high frequencies. When I hooked up the Deluxe to my semi closed back Traynor cab, the sound was warmer and darker...more vintage. When I hooked up the Traynor to the 65 Deluxe cab, it was brighter and more open. In other words I switched the tube section to the other's cab and the sound more or less followed the cab. Of course there is a difference in the speaker used as well and frankly I can't say how much was the speaker as apposed to the cab. The Traynor uses a Celestion Vintage 30, and the Deluxe uses a Jensen C12K. I hope somebody who knows what he's talking about can explain this better!

This will be as bad as "pickguard / no pickguard"

As a gigging "BAR" musician for some 30+ years I don't like closed back cabs.

1; If you're in a small club and not miking everything and sending separate monitor mixes to everybody (and spending an hour mixing freaking monitors) the drummer can't hear you. Period. He's behind a closed cab. Small 150/250 seat clubs are where a lot of musicians work. A 30 watt combo is all it takes.

2; Closed cabs will trick you. A Marshall 1960A (what I had for many years) sounds totally different from where you are, compaired to 25/30 feet in front of it. When I got a cordless rig back in the 90's and walked out in front of my Marshall 1/2 stack I was shocked at how crappy it sounded.

Sounded good right in front of it. Sounded good miked, but we didn't mike it in smaller clubs.