Gibson Brands Forums

New Epiphone Owner

jfeenin

Hi everyone, new member here. I am also new to guitar playing, just took my first official lesson Saturday, and new to Epiphones since I also just bought a transparent blue Les Paul Standard. Through information I have found here on these forums I believe it was made in September 2010. I think it has been hanging in the store since shortly thereafter though.

Which brings me to my question... When I removed the film on the pick guard the area under where the sticker was on top of the file has discolored slightly and matches the more creme color of the switch surround and the pickup surrounds but the rest of the pick guard that had the clear film only on it is much more white. I would have thought since the sticker was on top of the film that it would block the light more than the rest but the reverse appears to be the case. So now I have a beautiful guitar with a noticeable circle in the middle of the pickguard. I assume this will even out with age. Am I correct? I've even considered just taking it off and putting it on the window sill in the sun for a few weeks. Would that hurt it any? Would it help even it out faster? Should I just forget it and buy a new pickguard?

Any input is appreciated.

Joe

Hi everyone, new member here. I am also new to guitar playing, just took my first official lesson Saturday, and new to Epiphones since I also just bought a transparent blue Les Paul Standard. Through information I have found here on these forums I believe it was made in September 2010. I think it has been hanging in the store since shortly thereafter though.