Gibson Brands Forums

Any Slide Player's Here?

Dennis G

So I've been wanting to delve into the world of slide guitar for a while now. Have a couple of DVD's, some printed out stuff, et al, and finally took this guy in today to be set up specifically for slide (heavier strings, higher action, bone nut, etc.). Any and all tips and recommendations are welcome. One thing I've discovered so far is that this is a lot harder than it looks! [scared] One thing I've decided on is to go with standard tuning for starters, mostly because the scale patterns are familiar so I should only have to learn physical skills for starters, not mental ones. I'm also "pretty sure" that I'm using my pinky for the slide.

PRSSE22.jpg

Edit: Apologies. Thought I was posting this in the Lounge. If the Mod's could move it???

I've tried slide a few times and you're right. It is difficult.

I think a lot of slide players use D or G tuning but again, I'm not good at it, so I'm hoping someone really good posts. I would be interested in this too.

I think it's OK to leave the post here

as for slide...Um...um

IMG_0086.jpg

I enjoy playing in open tunings. Open G, D or just in E...whatever key is appropriate I suppose. I have a steel body Regal Duolian RC-2 I keep tuned in open G to jam with. I did have a wood body round neck resonator, something I no longer have...probably my next guitar.

RE: Alt tunings...

If you're picking up fretting for various chords, it can be a chore, but for slide, we're mostly talking about moving all or parts of an open string chord "up" the fingerboard. For example, if you're playing an open G chord, sliding to the 5th fret gives you a "C" and to a 7th fret you get a "D."

That's functionally the simplest way. I'd say that someone with just a little bit of music background could start playing folk guitar in a single day that way.

Getting really fancy? That's a different story.

m

Just a mild question here: