Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les Paul & SG issues....high e string....

rubbertherightway

I have recently purchased 2 Gibson’s- 1 les paul standard and an SG standard. Both are beautiful guitars Flawless except one issue…

The high E string rolls off the frets onto the binding when doing hammer on’s / pull-off’s. It makes a very annoying “click.” As a blues and classic rock player this is unacceptable. The high e string also has a tendency to slip off onto the bindings during regular play as well. While I only play guitar as a hobby, I have been playing for some 20 years and have never had this issue on the countless guitars I have owned.

Is there any “easy” fix for this problem via routine adjustments? I have been doing a bit of research on this issue, and many players have gone so far as to re-fret the guitar. What a shame!

Any advice???

Thanks.

Does is pop out of the nut aswell, or does the string only get caught beneath the binding?

Gibsons have a narrower fretboard compared to Ibanez and other guitars. It might only be something you will get used to and it won't happen after a few plays?

This can happen on both sides of the fretboard, but you only notice it on the 1st string as the string is thin enough to snag on the tiny gap between fret end and the binding. The thinner the string, the more likely it will happen. I always used a set of 9s on my Custom, and I used to find it annoying but it's a case of adapting. If you like to use a lot of vibrato on the 1st string, you can change the more normal 'wide' vibrato to more of an upward bend / release / upward etc. Some people have refrets that overlap the binding like a Yamaha SG2000. This removes the problem, but of course it loses that classy looking Gibson style binding.

this sometimes happens on my epiphone les paul, the high e goes off the fretboard and gets trapped on one of the frets(3rd i think) is there any solution to this?