Gibson Brands Forums

Death - The band

heymisterk

I saw a very interesting documentary today about a band called Death.

They were made up of three black brothers from Detroit who made hard-core punk music, but - according to the documentary; I am not a punk expert - years before other punk bands and the punk movement started.

Obviously, they were never accepted: by mainstream because of their name; by the black music scene because of the music they made.

The leader of the band - depressed about not being able to make it - eventually smoked and drank himself to death.

Check out this song, recorded - I think - in 1974. The full album was released in 2009!

First punk band is difficult, there's to many bands to cite for there to be a first and in reality to many variables.

Death (The punk band) known debut record is a bit difficult, it's interesting but it doesn't really hold up against time its self. It's something everyone who loves punk should own and have in his collection to pop out once in a while, but to be frank it's only really for the hardcore fans...

I don't know: I listened to a couple of the songs, and I really thought they were very good, with good hooks and good lyrics. I really enjoyed it more than - say - Black Flag or even Sex Pistols.

It's more suited to the rock types then the punk types, most here would just consider it as rock.

Call me crazy but it sure sounds like punk to me.

I never did get into punk at all.

And this sounds exactly like what I didn't like about punk when I first heard it back in the 70's.

It all sounded the same to me.

But hey,, to each his own.

To me, most punk does indeed have a distinct sound: songs that are relatively structurally simple that move quickly and skip any kind of soloing.