Gibson Brands Forums

Fret over binding process....another great idea from Gibson!?

jimmyl51

I wonder, are they still leaving the fret ends sharp? The best thing about the nibs is it covered up the sharp edges that they've been blessing us with.

Hm... none of my Gibson guitars and basses without bindings have sharp fret ends. [confused]

By the way, none of my instruments of other brands, too.

Hi guys

I hope this will not be generalized to all ESsss !!

I am not a professional musician and in the choice of a new guitar, the question of comfort and playability

comes first.

I am the happy owner of a ES339 and I felt immediatly at home when I tried it, it was the same with my Jazz Epiphone too

and , as my next axe will certainly be a 335, I have started to test some in shops,

and I must admit that the frets issue already prevents me to decide if I pursue or not

I find the standard 335 frets too high and with sharps ends, which is not the case with my 339 or even with the

YAM SA2200.

Will it be a problem for me in the future or do we adapt easily to the 335 frets ( by the way E Clapton or R Ford

pay 335s !!!)

Do you know if all 335 have the same frets or if some have Small and flat smooth frets ??

Thank you for your help !!!

I have never had a problem with sharp frets with any of my guitars without binding. That would be a boatload of strats , 5 acoustics, a Gibson LP Studio that I had , etc. I do much prefer nibs if they are done right, but I have seen some real hack jobs and I mean from the factory.

Thank you for your answers

the thing is, the 335s I tried in shops do have what you call "nibs" ( I understand it s the white binding overlapping

the frets ?)

but on the ES339 the ends have a smooth angle as they seem to be square on the 335.

Is there anybody here owning ( or having owned) both 339 and 335 ? to confirm this difference and tell me if it is difficult to adapt from 339 towards 335 ?