Gibson Brands Forums

Holy frustration Batman

Staninator

Who knew a pup swap, saddle change, Bigsby + Vibramate install, and putting on new strings could turn into a 4 hour job? Talk about frustrating. Things started off great with trying to get the pup height adjustment screws to go through the springs and into the mounting rings, which probably only took 15 minutes or so. I think Gibson should give out some sort of certificate of achievement for that because that was a pain in the arse. With that I moved on to the saddles (replacing the stock steel ones with Graph Tech String Savers) which was going great...until I got them all on and got the guitar strung and went to adjust the intonation and not 1 but 2 of them snapped clean in half. Needless to say I am not an expert at changing out saddles without removing the bridge (but I seriously mangled the intonation adjustment screws). Which brings me to the final fun part of the evening, restringing a Bigsby for the first time, which isn't so much frustrating but tedious. Once you get the strings into the Bigsby and get them half bent into shape it's not so bad. Nothing says fun like a 2.5 hour long university stats final exam and 4 hours of fiddling with the guitar. At least it looks amazing and no doubt will sound great, but that will have to wait for the morning. I am out of patience and don't feel like tackling intonation/pickup height/action height adjustment tonight.

/end rant

Now all I need is some black speed knobs in my stocking at Christmas and my SG will be good to go...

To string the bigsby, get a small piece of dowel or pen, then pre-bend the string. It helps a ton. [smile]