Gibson Brands Forums

Big Mac?

Murph

Is it me? I got a Big Mac today. It's been a while.

I thought they were, like big....... Is my memory failing????????

Is the meat, thinner?

It was like 2 pieces of bologna on 3 buns with Thousand Island Dressing?

Is the Big Mac built the way is was, when it was invented?

Just wonderin'.

Murph.

I think it's a sliding scale of values. When the big muck was introduced a large coke was 16 ounces. A large order of fries was 4 ounces. Today I think the large coke is over 40 ounces at some fast food restaurants. Also, there are bigger burgers out there competing for the fatal food prize, like the 1400 calorie Hardees burger and the 1200 or 1300 calorie triple meat whopper from Burger King. Add a large order of fries (600 calories) and a large (32 ounce) milk shake (950 calories) and you're in heaven (perhaps literally.)

Since I'm a retired professional burger flipper who worked fully three months at McDonalds at age 14 before they changed the child labor laws (really!) I stand on my seasoned dignity in proclaiming that the big muck is two 1/10 pound burger patties in a different bun. The 1/10 pound is before "cooking". Back in my day they used a grill to cook the meat, but only God knows how they do it now. My recollection of the "special sauce" was the acrid eye-burning fumes when you opened a gallon can of the stuff.

Here's a tip: Go rent a movie called "Supersize Me" and be sure to watch the special features. And then read a related book called "Fast Food Nation".

I get something from MacDonalds every once and awhile and its always a disappointment. The food is grey, greasy, and tastes as unhealthy as it is.