Gibson Brands Forums

Legit LP?

Alex95

Perhaps the price is due to mods, repairs, or refinishing? The very thing making me think is the bright appearance of the embossments. All the characters look genuine, numbers as well as letters, but they usually are the same hue or darker than the surrounding surface. My concern is they could have been retraced after a refinishing. I could be wrong though, and it happened indeed at the factory for any reason.

I don't know if it's because I'm using an iPad, but I can't see nearly enough detail to make a conclusive opinion. I would want to see the bridge clearly, Les Paul logo on the headstock, the serial number clearly. I certainly would not buy it based upon what I can see. I mean, it looks to me as if the serial number has white dye in the numerals, and to me, that's a red flag. I'm no expert, but I need to see more.

Looks perfectly fine to me as well.

As regards the price? I don't know what is being asked so I'm guessing in the dark here but there are a few things which come to mind.

First-off there's the wear in between the pups. Many folks prefer their LPs to appear to be in pristine condition.

The wear on the back is a lesser problem since it's not in plain view but the above reply still holds true.

Finally it depends on whether the LP is a regular Standard or else a Standard Faded - which I think it might be. It's hard to tell from the pictures but that's the impression I get.

The Standard Faded was priced below the regular Standard to start with so it might be expected to be priced lower than a Standard in the used market.

However...

If it is a Standard Faded then my advice to you would be to check it out; several very well-informed players rate this model very highly.

The supposition that they tend to be very good instruments is backed-up by the rarity in which they seem to come up for sale. Owners do tend to hang on to them...

Pip.